Mizoram – II – India

So far we have covered following states of the India in our remote trip – Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and Arunachal Pradesh. And now I’m in the Mizoram and in the last chapter, I met Ananya.

Durtlang Hills is situated in the North of the Aizwal high. The majestic Aizwal city scenery will leave you breathless. The greenery of the Durtlang Hills will make you fall in love with it. You won’t regret after spending hours with your loved one or solo. It won’t make you tiresome.

So after a marginal effort of mine, she got ready to visit Durtlang Hills with me.

‘Let’s sit there’, I asked Ananya to sit on the greenery.
‘Ok’, she said and we sat.

‘Want to drink water?’, I asked and forwarded water bottle to her and she was still in chaos. She started drinking water. I opened my bag and searched for the chips’ packet and asked her, ‘Want to have?’

We started having chips and I placed the water bottle right to me. In front of us the pleasant and intriguing city was. People around us were having a good time with their loved one and few of them were walking on a long open way. It was tranquil except the voice of people around us.

‘So, tell me how you reached to the Mizoram from Assam?’, I asked because you know how curious I was to know her story.
‘Why you want to know?’, she said. She meant to, ‘Why do you want to know?’

‘I want to know that what it was that in your upbringing which made you drive an auto in early age’, I asked while gazing into her eyes and one hand was busy in holding the chips packet and another one was on its way to the mouth holding a chip.

Now I will carry the conversation in English instead of using her language. You have to find what she would have said in her language.

‘It was not in my upbringing. I walked through some situations in life and the result ended here. Not ended actually, I’m trying to come out of it very soon’, she seemed with full of distress but she was still carrying an admiring smile on her face. She seemed longing about something and I decided to know about her longingness.
‘So, tell me your story. How you became an auto driver in your 20s?’


When I was 8 years old my Mom was suffering from disease and it became impasse for every one of us. My father a priest in a Church and my brother was in college at that time. We were used to of visit Church with my father on every Sunday or twice a week because most of the Mizo people visit Church twice or thrice in a week.’

One day in the morning I and my father got ready for the Church and I asked Mom to come with us but she said I’m not coming today you people go and take care of yourself.  And we left for the Church. While on our way to the Church I asked my father, I want to study and want to do something for this country. It made my father astonished because of most of the girls in the Mizo help their parents in agriculture and house work but I didn’t want to be that one. At that early age, I started learning things from here and there. Whenever was I seeing something useful or not useful; I was grabbing it. My father is a humble person and go-between of God and people who are distress, longing and who are facing recurrent anguish. He is benevolent. His amiable and benevolent behaviour made him an inspiration for other people. He stopped, looked into my eyes and put his hands on my shoulders. He was maybe introspecting my comprehend of education and how I can make its impact in that town. He sat down on knees and kept looking into my eyes till far I was staring up but after his sitting, I had to look down. He said, ‘Son, I’m proud of you. You know how education can impact millions of life?’ His answer made me speechless. His words in that answer were immensely effective. His vision and the thinking about the impact of education were state-of-the-art. He believed in the state-of-the-art methods. He said:

An educated human being can change the entire world. An educated human being is capable of doing extraordinary things. Son, the reason of social issues, murders, rapes, women harassment, unemployment, corruption, casteism, child abuses, poverty, violence against women is only illiteracy. If the problem of education can be resolved in our country, rest of them will be sorted out easily. Illiteracy is the roadblock on our way to the developed country. Other crimes and issues like rapes, murders are getting headlines but the real problem we need to solve is the illiteracy. The country has an immense number of opportunities to work upon. The youth of India has the ability to make India great. I always wanted you to study and fulfil your dreams. And today you asked about your study, you won’t believe; how happy I am. I will do my best to make your dreams come true.

He completed and hugged me. That day, was one of the turning points of my life. That day, I got to know the power of an educated country and ability of an educated human being. My father started doing every possible thing for me. On the next day, he made me get an admission in a school. I was happy and enjoying my school life. When I entered the 11th class, my Mom died due to her surfing of disease. We did everything but couldn’t control to hear from the doctor, ‘Sorry, we couldn’t do anything.’

That day, I felt incomplete. That day, I felt the ground is sleeping under my feet

For the next one month, I couldn’t make it to go to the school and the principle kept calling my father and father was giving excuses to him because he knew I’m not comfortable to go to school.

take me to the next part

Leave a Reply

